A picture for Good Friday

image

 

This really is  one of my favourite pictures.  It’s by Gabriel Max and the title is The Raising of the daughter of Jairus.  I love it on many levels.  First, it’s a narrative and you can Google that part yourself.  I love the composition too; the way the painting is split into dark and light, life and death.  Oh, and just in case you didn’t quite get what’s going on here the artist puts the clasped hands right in the centre of the picture. . . on a golden cloth.  I love the frame too, carved with Passion flowers . . . more symbolism.  The Hebrew lettering at the top.  It’s a quote from the story.  ( hint:  look in the gospel of Luke). Anyway I really love this painting and often feature it in my tours at the Museum and I thought it was good for the day.

I have been reading all sorts of things.  Just finished Mohsin Hamid’s “the Reluctant Fundementalist”  wonderful stuff and very original in style.  I read the “How to get filthy rich….”too.  Now, here is a confession that will make some of you howl.  I am reading “Joyland” by Stephen King because I think he is one of the best storytellers around.  I love Coronatiom Street too.  I am a sucker for a good yarn and both of those satisfy me.  The trick is creating one that will grab my readers. . . and I don’t mean by the scruff of the neck.  I just want to take you firmly by the hand and lead you along.  Working on something special so this will be short.  Till tomorrow

Leave a Reply

